Dr. Jason Yam

Dr. Jason Yam is an assistant professor in the Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences at the Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) and academic coordinator of the Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus service at Hong Kong Eye Hospital (HKEH). He is well trained in pediatric ophthalmology and strabismus and pediatric ocular genetics. He has completed observerships in pediatric ophthalmology and strabismus at Great Ormond Street Hospital (2011), with Dr. David Guyton of Johns Hopkins Hospital (2011), and with Dr. Kenneth Wright in Los Angeles (2012); in ocular genetics with Dr. Janey Wiggs of Harvard Medical School (2016), with Dr. Alex Levin of Wills Eye Hospital (2017), and through Baylor College of Medicine at Texas Children Hospital (2017); and in ocular oncology and retinoblastoma with Dr. Jerry Shields and Dr. Carol Shields of Wills Eye Hospital (2017).


Dr. Yam actively contributes to children’s eye care in Hong Kong, the Asia-Pacific region, and internationally. He serves as Secretary-General of the Asia-Pacific Strabismus and Paediatric Ophthalmology Society (APSPOS); coordinator of the Hong Kong Paediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus Group; council member (Hong Kong representative) of the International Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus Council; nonstrabismus leader of the Global Consult Bureau of the World Society of Paediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus; member of the Pediatric Ophthalmology Committee of the Chinese Pediatric Society; and honorary treasurer of the Hong Kong Ophthalmological Society. He is Congress President and Organizing Committee Chair of the inaugural APSPOS Congress. He also serves as subspecialty liaison of the pediatric ophthalmology and strabismus (POS) program at the World Ophthalmology Congress (WOC) 2016 and 2018; secretary of the POS program at the Asia-Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology (APAO) Congress 2016 and 2017; external secretary of the Organizing Committee and coordinator of the POS program at APAO 2018; member of the Programme Committee of AAPOS/CAPOS Joint Conference 2017; convener of POS for the 10th International Symposium of Ophthalmology (ISO) 2014; committee member for POS at the 9th ISO 2013; and member of the International Advisory Committee for ARVO Asia 2017.


Being passionate about ophthalmic training and education, Dr. Yam is currently a member of both the APAO Public Education Committee and APAO Ophthalmic Education Committee, coordinator of CUHK Ophthalmology Undergraduate Education, CUHK Global Physician Stream Student Mentor, CUHK Year 6 Curriculum Committee Member, coordinator of CUHK and HKEH Pediatric Ophthalmology Fellowship Program, coordinator of the CUHK Ophthalmology Public Education Program, Training Subcommittee member in the College of Ophthalmologist of Hong Kong, and member of the Hong Kong Jockey Club Innovative Learning Centre for Medical Education Subcommittee. He also serves as honorary associate professor at Shantou Medical School, contributing to the training and education of ophthalmology residents in China.


He has authored more than 40 publications and 2 book chapters and co-authored 1 book. He is the principal investigator in research grants of more than 6 million HKD. He has delivered more than 40 presentations and invited lectures at international conferences. He also serves as an editor for Scientific Reports, Asia-Pacific Journal of Ophthalmology, and Hong Kong Journal of Ophthalmology and is a reviewer of 10 international journals. His awards include Hong Kong Society of Community Medicine Prize (2003), Dr. Timothy Kai-Ching Liu Memorial Fund Award (2009), Distinguished Young Fellow in Hong Kong Academy of Medicine (2013), APAO Tano Travel Grant (2014), World Ophthalmology Congress Travel Grant (2014), APAO Leadership Development Program Graduate (2015), APAO Distinguished Service Award (2016), APAO Achievement Award (2016), and Hospital Authority Corporate Scholarship (2016). Under his supervision, his PhD students obtained national awards including 1st place in JSIEC International Student Forum (2016) and 2nd runner up in China National Student Forum (2016).